What inspires me: Birds

I love birds and for the past few years they have inspired a lot of my artwork.  You can see them in my photographs, textiles, and mixed media work.  My Grandma Harriet loved birds too.  She loved their song, their colors, the sweetness of them.  Every time I see a little Wren I think it’s my granny coming to say hello to me.

This past summer at Penland School of Crafts, I did an entire series of bird prints using various types of printing methods.  I also incorporated old photographs that I had bought at a rummage sale.  I tried to associate what was going on in the minds of those in the photograph and associate that with the behavior of the birds.  In my head I could hear the dialogue the people were having and that the birds were having.

Here are some examples:

The print above  is a multi-layered dry point etching.  The photograph was scanned and printed on kitakata Japanese paper and applied using the Chine-collé method.
The print above  and the one below were also done in multi-layers and utilize two different etching techniques, dry point and soft ground etching.  The photographs were added using the  Chine-collé method.  I love etching, to me it is quite magical and I loved the texture that the  plate tone  creates while wiping the plates.  To learn more about etching check this out.
Lately, crows have shown up quite a bit in my work.  I think they are beautiful birds with their shinny sleek feathers, sometimes they almost seem metallic.  I am also drawn to crows because of their intelligence and their adaptability.   This is an amazing TED Talk that talks about the intelligence of crows.
Thanks for reading!
2 responses

  1. Krista, I love birds as well, and the crow is one of my totems and has been for over a decade. My grandmother has always loved birds and feeds them outside her dining room window so when we eat we can see them. I have been watching them at her house with her for as long as I can remember. This is a great blog and your art work is really stunning. Love it!

Leave a Reply

