Try Happiness

I start every day with a walk, a little 1/4 mile walk to the tram stop.  It’s a great way to start the day.

Lately I have been doing a lot of walking.  I love to walk.  When I first got to Brussels 7 months ago I wandered, not really walking with a purpose.  I explored my neighborhood and found new ones.  Eventually I had a Sunday walk, which included a stroll through an outdoor flea market and a pass through the Grand Place (the big city square in Brussels).  It was a great way to pass the day……

Then winter hit, crummy weather, dark by 4pm…meh, The days were grey and melancholy.  It forced me to join a gym, a loud bass filled techno gym where you are bombarded with TVs..but it kept me moving…barely.

Now spring is pretty much here and I have started to walk home from school. It’s roughly 7 kilometers or 4ish miles.  It takes me about an hour and 20 minutes.  OK, that’s all great, but it does amazing things for me mentally.

I think when I walk.  Sometimes I get really sad as I am walking, but my forward motion helps me move through it.  I also get so happy that sometimes I cry and that such a great feeling.  Walking helps my creativity and my thought process.  When I have to make a big decision or work through some particular issue I walk.  As I was walk walking home today I was thinking of this photograph that I took in Paris a few weeks ago…..

While I was out for my Parisian stroll, I came across this little boy on his scooter with the most profound statement stitched on his scarf: “Try Happiness”.  Wow, he came into my life at the right time.  We crossed paths at the right time, both doing something we love.  It’s easier sometimes to be unhappy, happiness takes work.  And now, during this particularly stressful time in my life, when all I want to do is wallow in self-pity, I think of this boy, his scarf, and know it is time to take a walk.

Take care and thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

