Just Pictures: Wandering about Brussels

Yesterday we had the day off from school …YAAAAAA!  It was Labor Day here and therefore a free day to do no labor, which I didn’t.  The other special thing about yesterday is that is was SUNNY!  Yes, the sun actually came out and stayed out for many consecutive hours.  I was pleased to have the opportunity to dry out, warm up, feel the sun on my neck.

So I decided to do one of my favorite walks down to the open air flea market and through a bit of the old part of the city.  I love the flea market, which is open EVERYDAY!  When I first got here, I went almost every Sunday.  I rarely buy something, it’s a great place to wander and look at a bunch of old junk and some of it is great old junk.

So here we go, my walk in pictures…

A view of the city of Brussels

I found this funny window arrangement on the way to the flea market.

A close-up of a painty peely wall

In these boxes most everything is a Euro, but you need to dig...no energy to dig today.

This guy sells hundreds of glasses, buttons, pipes, matchbooks and more...what a pack rat!

metal and glass

no hands Jesus

awesome record player

After spending some time at the flea market I made my way through the city and found this wall filled with some pretty cool street art.

Belgium is known for its beer (over 900 kinds) and chocolate.  Check out these hippos all carved from chocolate.  I almost passed out from the sugary smell when I entered the shop…

Then it was time to relax a bit and I found this little oasis to sit and enjoy the weather.

I love tulips

On my way home I saw these guys and thought they were pretty funny.

It was a good walk and a great day to be outside…now it is back to work.

Take care and thanks for reading!

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Inside My Sketchbook | Krista Skrede: Art and Textiles

Leave a Reply

