Just Pictures: Wandering around Ghent

 

I am not sure what has taken me so long to get Ghent, (pronounced as if you’re clearing your throat), but I am glad I finally explored it this weekend.   It’s a beautiful old city located in the Flemish region of Belgium, actually it is the capital of East Flanders.    You can read more about it here.

Anyway, I was awoken early Saturday morning by this strange glowing orb coming through my window…yep, you guessed it!  THE SUN.  We haven’t really been seeing very much of that star here in Brussels, so it was a shock to the system to be woken up by that smiling sphere rather than the sound of the horse of a dog that lives above me.  I was so happy to see it as I have been chomping at the bit to get out of Brussels, and so I decided to seize the sun and go for it.

So I gathered my camera and my umbrella (can’t be too over confident) and hopped on the train.  In 25 minutes I was in Ghent.

WHAT A GEM!  It’s not as congested as Brussels, the buildings are not as high and have more of a Dutch influence. Ghent is a university town, it has a great lively feel to it.  It was clean!  No dog poo on the streets and people were sooooo friendly!  They smiled, they greeted you, I got to speak Dutch, it was a lovely day.

Here are some pictures from my adventure:

People rode bikes, almost impossible in Brussels because of the traffic.

I loved the canals in the city, it gives it such a romantic feel.

They have an open air flower market there everyday.

So I just walked and walked and walked, with out a map, until my feet just could not go on anymore.  I can’t wait to go back to Ghent and do some more exploring, perhaps this time with a guide book…or maybe not 🙂

Hope you all had a lovely weekend and the moms had a great mother’s day.

Take care and thanks for reading!

 

 

 

6 responses

    • Thank you! I took pictures that day with both my DSLR and my iTouch, which has the Hipstamatic app. and decided to post most of my hipsta prints because they were easier to up load and I was having some lighting issues with my DSLR…it’s not use to the Belgian sun 🙂 Anyway, I love the hipstamatic app., as it always brings be back to my childhood. Thanks for your comments and thanks for following my blog. Take care!

  1. OMG!!!! I want to go so baaaaad! I have a dear friend in Oostende that I have yet to meet. The music scene is very lively in Belgium. These are some great snaps. Thank you so much for sharing.

Leave a Reply

